Remove the Tab to Open Microsoft Edge in Internet Explorer of Windows 10

Starting with Windows 10 build 15002, a new tab called “Open Microsoft Edge” has been added to the tab bar of Internet Explorer.  This Edge Tab is situated next to the New Tab button on the Tab Bar.

This article will show you how to remove this Open Microsoft Edge Tab.

1. Click/tap on the Tools (Alt+X) button in Internet Explorer, and click/tap on Internet Options. (see screenshot below)

 

2. Click/tap on the Advanced tab in Internet Options, check (remove) or uncheck (default add) the Hide the button (next to the New Tab button) that open Microsoft Edge option under the Browsing section for what you want, and click/tap on OK. (see screenshot below).  Click Apply button, Click OK.

3. Close and reopen Internet Explorer to see that the change has been applied and that the unwanted Tab is gone.

Bye the way, Microsoft wants you to use the Edge browser because all of your searches and your browsing habits are stored to the BING CLOUD.  Microsoft can use your browsing habits to serve you targeted ads in Microsoft Edge.  So far, Microsoft has not chosen to do this when you use Internet Explorer.  I recommend disabling Edge to the maximum extent possible.  Don’t use the Windows 10 apps for “Contacts” or “Mail” or Calendar.  All the content of these Windows 10 Apps is sifted by Microsoft and the content is stored in the Bing Cloud.  Don’t use Cortana.  Same reasoning.  Disable it until it only serves as a file search box.  Finally, go into “Start,” “Settings,” and “Privacy,” and turn OFF as much information leaking functionality as possible, which would otherwise allow apps and Microsoft Windows 10 to store and use your personal information, and the personal information of your contacts, business associates, clients, etc.  Never Log into Windows 10 with your Windows Account ID.  Never authorize the use of your Windows Account ID as the default configuration.  As soon as you enable an APP from the Windows App store, you will be asked to make that default authorization.  You might skip right past it.  That is their intent.